Research

FANDOM

The community that surrounds a tv show/movie/book etc. Fanfiction writers, artists, poets, and cosplayers are all members of that fandom. Fandoms often consist of message boards, livejournal communities, and people.

Fan Domain
A domain in the internet about a comic, a book, a tv show, a video game etc. There are several fandoms all around the internet, where fans converge and the comunities are really big, many have forums, fanfics, fanart, etc.

The microcosm made up of people who are fans of a fiction genre, or of a subgenre, who have their own clubs, conventions and amateur magazines (fanzines), dating back (in some cases) to the early 1930s. Some of these are overlapping. Star Trek fandom, for example, started in science fiction fandom and eventually became a separate fandom on its own. Comics fandom and even rock (music) fandom also started there before becoming separate entities.

There are essentially two cultures to be aware of regarding the audience of my artefact:
– the culture surrounding the tv show/movie/book etc (further research to be carried out when I have make a decision on what fandom to create for)
– the culture of fandom itself (video above, notes below)

  • the importance of tumblr
  • they have their own language
  • consumes their lives
  • high level of knowledge surrounding the series/book/film etc
  • fanfiction
  • shipping: creating relationships and supporting them.

 

From my research, I have observed that members of a fandom dedicate a huge part of their life to an area of pop-culture. In order to create an artefact for this type of audience, I must fully understand the workings of the element of pop culture as well as the workings of the fandom itself and the culture that surrounds it. My audience is a certain type of fan – not just someone who enjoys the series, film or book, but someone who is completely immersed in the subtext of it and makes the dedication to the fandom a huge part of their life.

Top Ten Fandoms of 2012 (http://knowyourmeme.com/blog/meme-review/top-ten-fandoms-of-2012)

– One Direction
– Lil B
– Breaking Bad
– Game of Thrones
– The Hunger Games
– Mass Effect- The Avengers
– Homestruck
– Doctor Who
– Twilight

I do not consider myself a fan of any of these above, neither does anything spring to mind as something that I am a fan of. I like a lot of things but there is nothing that I am obsessed with or have a really deep knowledge of in particular. I used to be a fan of some TV shows eg. Buffy, Friends, Little Britian, when I was a little younger and when I was much, much younger I used to be a fan of music acts like The Spice Girls, Britney, Blue etc. However, now as my tastes have matured and my personality has become less obsessive, I find it hard to engage with an element of pop culture on that kind of level also because I don’t really have much spare time to really get into something and devote time for it. The only things I am interested in that spring to mind do not have a large fan base, such as series: Utopia and Being Human – also music acts like Lucy Rose, Ben Howard etc. Although they all have very dedicated fanbases, they do not have a huge online presence in comparison to those mentioned above. Therefore my product would be difficult to market and may not be as successful as I would hope. So before I settle on a particular fandom, I will continue my research on fandom culture, as it is as important as the culture surrounding the film/series/book/artist etc.

Tumblr

Through my research, tumblr continues to come up as something strongly linked with fandom. So I will make myself an account and get familiar with the workings of it and get a more indepth insight as to how fandom works within its most dominant social networking platform.

From creating this account and browsing this platform, I learnt a lot about fandom that I wouldn’t have been able to learn from google searches and general research. Getting in there and doing is much more beneficial as you are there while it is unfolding. I realise that I will have to dedicate a lot of time to the workings of tumblr and my chosen fandom in order to really understand my audience and create something of interest for them. I will have to put myself in their shoes and create something as one of them.

Leave a Reply

